Statute of Limitations
Take action now — the Statute of Limitations in Tennessee may affect your rights
In most cases, you have a limited amount of time to initiate legal proceedings after a personal injury. Laws vary from state to state, and sometimes from case to case. At Meade Law Group, we can analyze the circumstances in your case and advise how best to proceed. Call or complete our online contact form today for a free initial consultation.
Because the statute of limitations varies, it’s important to speak with a lawyer about your specific circumstances. The following are some general statute of limitations guidelines for Tennessee:
- Personal injury — 1 year
- Injury to personal property — 3 years
- Product liability — 1 year
- Wrongful death — 1 year from date of death
The reason states have statute of limitation laws is because evidence is lost, memories fade and people want to get on with their lives over time.
Statute of Limitations and injuries to children
Sometimes, the law allows the statute of limitations clock to stop running on a case. This is referred to as “tolling,” which may occur for cases involving injuries to children, or if the victim is mentally incompetent.
In most personal injury cases involving children, the statute of limitations generally begins to run upon the minor’s 18th birthday. So even if a child was harmed when he or she was 5 years old, the victim may still be able to pursue litigation for up to two years after the 18th birthday in many cases. There are some exceptions, such as wrongful death cases.
For more information about how the statute of limitations may affect your potential case, please get in touch with Meade Law Group.
Don’t hesitate to speak with an injury attorney in Tennessee
If you have suffered a personal injury, contact Meade Law Group. Don’t put your rights in jeopardy by waiting too long. Choose our firm for experienced representation.
Your initial consultation is free. You don’t pay us any fees unless you win. Call (423) 464-7779 today.