Marijuana laws are constantly changing across the country. That’s why it can be frustrating to visit another state or move to another state that does not have the same protocols as others.
As of July 2022, Tennessee marijuana laws are limited, with both recreational and medical use of marijuana being illegal but the growth and minimal use of hemp being legal. This can be extremely confusing as both hemp and marijuana come from the same type of plant (cannabis) but marijuana has more THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) than hemp, which contains more CBD (cannabidiol).
Movement Towards Making Marijuana Legal in Tennessee
Recently, multiple legislators have proposed rules to make some marijuana use legal in the Volunteer State. Most notably was Rep. Bob Freeman (D-Nashville) who introduced HB1968 also known as the “Free All Cannabis for Tennesseans Act.” This legislation would have made the growth, sale, and possession of marijuana legal in Tennessee. The proposal, though, never made it past committee hearings.
Current Punishments Connected to Marijuana in Tennessee
Depending on an individual’s possession, selling, or cultivation of marijuana determines the type of punishment that person will face.
If a person is found to have one half-ounce or less of marijuana on them, the charge will typically be classified as misdemeanor possession. A possession of marijuana conviction can carry a fine of up to $500 and up to one year in jail.
Someone who is found with more than a half-ounce to up to 300 pounds of marijuana may be charged with selling the drug, especially if they are also found to be in possession of drug paraphernalia like drug scales or packing materials. Punishments can vary for someone convicted of selling marijuana, but most face felony penalties. For those found guilty of selling:
- One-half ounce to ten pounds — one-six years incarceration and a fine of up to $5,000;
- 10-70 pounds — two-twelve years incarceration and a fine of up to $50,000;
- 70-300 pounds — eight-thirty years incarceration and a fine of up to $100,000;
- More than 300 pounds — 15-60 years incarceration and a fine of up to $200,000.
Facing Marijuana Charges in Tennessee?
If you were charged with a marijuana offense in Tennessee, it’s essential to have an experienced criminal defense team working on your case. The lawyers at Meade Law Group are ready to assist you and fight the charges you’re facing. Contact our team today online or by phone. (423) 464-7779