If you’re driving on the road in Tennessee, you better do so with car insurance. It is a state law that all Tennessee drivers must carry car insurance. There are other key factors Tennessee drivers need to know before going on the road.
In Tennessee, there are minimum liabilities required for car insurance policyholders.
Bodily Injury Liability
This is the liability that covers the cost should someone else get hurt in an accident that you cause. This liability can also help pay legal fees should you be sued after an accident. While it varies how much coverage each driver wants to get, in Tennessee, it is required that drivers hold a minimum bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Property Damage Liability
Having property damage liability protects you if you cause damage to someone else’s property during an accident. If you were to cause damage on your own property, a separate comprehensive and collision coverage would cover that destruction. In Tennessee, drivers are required to have a minimum of $15,000 of coverage per accident.
While the liabilities listed above are required in Tennessee, the following are not required but are good to get if possible.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury & Property Damage Liabilities
Unfortunately, not all drivers follow the rules and carry the proper car insurance. If you are injured in an accident with an uninsured driver, having uninsured motorist bodily insurance is there to keep you protected. In Tennessee, drivers can receive coverage for $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist bodily injury liability.
If you are involved in an accident and an uninsured motorist causes property damage, that’s where additional coverage can also help. Tennessee law allows drivers to have $15,000 per accident involving an uninsured motorist who causes property damage.
If you or passengers in your vehicle are hurt in an accident, having medical payment coverage can help pay for the impending expenses. Additionally, this coverage can also help with funeral expenses should the accident be fatal.
If you need to make repairs or even replace your vehicle because it has been damaged in an accident, this coverage will take care of that. Some drivers choose not to add on this insurance if they have an older vehicle that would be undrivable should an accident occur. However, drivers who have newer vehicles or would want to have their vehicle repaired if possible should opt-in for this coverage.
This is an additional liability that covers damage caused by destructive storms or vandalism. Additionally, comprehensive coverage would help drivers should their vehicle be stolen.
When To Call Our Johnson City Attorneys
If you’ve been injured in an accident and the other driver didn’t have the proper insurance coverage, contact the team at Meade Law Group as soon as possible. Our personal injury attorneys have helped countless individuals get compensated adequately after an accident. Get started with a free consultation by calling (423) 464-7779.