DUI Offenses at Tennessee Universities Up 60%

DUI offenses on college campuses across Tennessee have increased by more than 60% from 2016 to 2017, according to the Tennessee Bureau of Investigations (TBI). The study, known as “Crime on Campus 2017”, compiled data submitted to the TBI by the state’s universities, colleges, and law enforcement agencies through an incident based reporting system. It looked at crimes in the state from the start of the school year in 2016 until February 2017.

As DUI arrests rose dramatically, other crimes such as robberies and forcible sex offenses dropped steeply. Robberies fell the most, down 55% from 2016 to 2017. Forcible sex offenses dropped 26%, while assault offenses decreased 13.7% year-to-year.

Consequences for DUI in Tennessee

While an arrest for driving under the influence may not sound as bad as getting caught for robbery, the criminal record a DUI leaves behind has the potential to affects you for years to come. Worst of all, Tennessee has mandatory jail time for first time DUI offenders. At a minimum, you will spend 48 hours in jail; if your BAC is over .20%, the minimum is raised to 7 days. In addition, you’ll have to attend an alcohol and drug treatment program.

A second DUI has a minimum of 45 days in jail, a mandatory fine of no more than $3,500, license revocation for 2 years, court-ordered alcohol programs or interlock device monitoring. Your car is also confiscated starting at a second DUI. A third DUI conviction carries a minimum of 120 days in jail, no more than $10,000 in fines, and license revocation for 6-10 years. Fourth and subsequent DUIs are felonies and will get you 1 year in jail, up to $15,000 in fines, and an 8 year license revocation.

As you can see, getting convicted for driving under the influence is no joke. If you have been arrested for DUI or are a parent who has had a child charged with driving under the influence, please contact our Johnson City criminal defense attorneys at Meade Law Group today to discuss your legal options. Let us put our decades of combined experience in your corner to help you get the results you desire.

For more information or to retain high-quality legal representation, call us today at (423) 464-7779 or contact us online and schedule your free initial consultation.

Categories:

Contact Meade Law Group Today!

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
Put Us On Your Side