Whether it was a simple swipe or a planned action, theft happens every day. When it comes to the consequences of this accusation, Tennessee is similar to many states in that the value of the stolen property determines the ultimate punishment.
Have you been accused of a theft crime? Whether you’re facing a misdemeanor or felony, it’s essential to have legal representation so you can get the most favorable outcome. Contact Meade Law Group so we can start working on your case.
Tennessee Code. §§ 39-14-103,-104
The Tenn. Code. §§ 39-14-103, -104 (2021) states, “A person commits theft of property if, with intent to deprive the owner of property, the person knowingly obtains or exercises control over the property without the owner's effective consent.”
When charged with theft, an individual can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony.
Most theft charges are considered felonies, but an individual could be charged with a misdemeanor instead if the value of the property stolen doesn’t meet certain criteria. That criteria typically applies to properties with a value of $1,000 or less.
If an individual faces a misdemeanor theft charge, it will most likely be classified as Class A. This means that consequences could include nearly a year of jail time and a fine of $2,500.
There are multiple categories of felony theft someone may face if the circumstances result in this type of charge.
Class E Felony
Someone facing this charge is commonly accused of stealing an item valued at $2,500 or less. Punishments include imprisonment from one to six years and a fine of up to $3,000.
Class D Felony
Consequences for a Class D felony are more serious than a Class E felony. For someone to be charged with a Class D felony, a person must be accused of stealing property or services worth at least $2,500 but no more than $10,000. Punishments are typically two to 12 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Class C Felony
When charged with a Class C felony, someone is typically accused of stealing property or services worth at least $10,000 but less than $60,000. If an individual is found guilty of this crime, they will usually face three to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
Class B Felony
Someone is typically charged with a Class B felony if they are accused of stealing property or services worth at least $60,000 but less than $250,000. When facing this charge, an individual can face from eight to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.
Class A Felony
This classification is one of the most serious accusations someone can face in Tennessee. If an individual is accused of this type of felony, that means they reportedly took property or services worth $250,000 or more. Someone found guilty of this charge can be imprisoned for 15 to 60 years in prison and must pay a fine of up to $50,000.
There are some punishment alternatives for those convicted of theft crimes. However, these are typically granted for those facing misdemeanor theft charges compared to felony theft charges. Options can include paying a fine or restitution only, a suspended jail sentence, being sentenced to work release, and/or a community-based alternative such as community service.
Meade Law Group Is Here For You
No matter what type of theft charge you may face, the criminal defense team at Meade Law Group is here for you. Count on our Tennessee criminal defense attorneys to utilize their skills to get you the most favorable outcome. Contact our attorneys online or by phone, so we can start working on your case. (423) 464-7779