Attorney Mac Meade Interviewed on News Channel 11

Attorney Mac Meade was featured on News Channel 11, discussing the possibility of Lieutenant Eddie Graybeal III being charged with assault.

The question of whether or not Graybeal could face criminal prosecution arose after a video surfaced showing him slap a man in handcuffs. The incident happened on November 10, 2018 at the Washington County Detention Center.

In the video, Graybeal can be seen talking to the man as he’s getting out of a police vehicle. As the man steps forward, the lieutenant slaps him across the chest. Officers stated that the man was inebriated and belligerent.

After the incident, Graybeal reported it, and the bodycam footage supported his story. Chief Deputy Leighta Laitinen cited Graybeal’s clean professional history, and the fact that the man was not seriously hurt, for not requesting an external investigation into the matter. Graybeal was issued a letter of counseling.

Typically, a use-of-force situation is reported to the District Attorney’s office for review and to determine whether or not to press charges.

Attorney Meade recently watched the video and told News Channel 11 that Graybeal's actions meet Tennessee's definition of assault. The DA could still file charges, regardless of whether or not the man in the video chooses to.

Tennessee Code Annotated 39-13-101 identifies 3 elements that can be considered assault:

  • Intentionally or knowingly injuring another person;
  • Intentionally or knowingly causing another person to fear bodily injury; or
  • Intentionally or deliberately physically touching another in a way that a reasonable person would consider offensive or provocative

Attorney Meade said that Graybeal’s open-hand slap could meet the third element of this offense, and his status as a police officer should not exempt him from the law.

Assault is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, the most serious misdemeanor level in the state. A conviction carries with it a jail term of up to 11 months, 29 days and a fine of up to $2,500. Mead said that often, the penalty is a combination of jail and probation.

Click here to read the full article from News Channel 11.

For Legal Representation, Reach Out to Meade Law Group

For a prosecutor to land a conviction, they must prove a defendant violated the elements of an offense. Backed by decades of combined experience, our lawyers have extensive knowledge of the legal system and can conduct a thorough review of the circumstances to challenge the evidence and find weaknesses in the case. If you’re facing criminal allegations, contact our team for the effective defense you need.

Request your free consultation by calling us at (423) 464-7779 or contacting us online.